Advertise Here

Author Topic: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?  (Read 6129 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kalphiter

  • SMF For Free Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • DE30AC #409
    • View Profile

  • Total Badges: 14
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Combination Level 3 Level 2 Level 1
How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« on: February 27, 2008, 08:27:54 pm »
How do you make a link go down to a certain part, for example Java. How would it make it jump to the line where it says that? I understand how to link it, but I don't know how to make it jump to a line.

Chapter 1: {Java} (I want to make it so when you click the link it goes to this line)
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 08:45:44 pm by Kalphite »

Offline Celebrus

  • SMF For Free Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 941
    • View Profile
    • Vikhyat Korrapati

  • Total Badges: 16
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Combination Level 3 Level 2 Level 1
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 10:25:38 pm »
For one thing that is not an Smf for Free hosted forum.   He is using the same software, yes, but keep in mind that not all things work the same on hosted forums.   

It takes html to do that and you cannot use all html tags in posts so you are unable to do it.
He is hosting the site himself and probably allows the tags needed to do so in posts     At any rate it cannot be done with your forum here with SMF for Free as not all html tags will work in posts only some basic ones will.

I think it is possible for admins to use html tags. Then all the html inside gets executed.

Offline simply sibyl

  • Helpers
  • *
  • Posts: 14347
  • On hiatus
    • View Profile
    • The Tent Dwellers

  • Total Badges: 31
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 6 Poll Voter Webmaster Arcade Highscore Windows User
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 10:32:17 pm »

I think it is possible for admins to use html tags. Then all the html inside gets executed.

tried it.. got no where fast.
<br> <b> and a few others will work but cannot get <a name= or <a href=  to work
(yep i put em inside html tags) 

the tooltip when you enable basic html says these will work:
<b>, <u>, <i>, <s>, <em>, <ins>, <del>
<a href="">
<img src="" alt="" />
<br />, <hr />
<pre>, <blockquote>

a href wont work for me
img src will

odd
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 10:35:45 pm by simply sibyl »

Offline simply sibyl

  • Helpers
  • *
  • Posts: 14347
  • On hiatus
    • View Profile
    • The Tent Dwellers

  • Total Badges: 31
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 6 Poll Voter Webmaster Arcade Highscore Windows User
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2008, 10:38:36 pm »
edit:  got <a href to work now

I cant think of a way to do what she wants to do with out using <a name  though..  Omikron do you know another way?

Offline Celebrus

  • SMF For Free Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 941
    • View Profile
    • Vikhyat Korrapati

  • Total Badges: 16
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Combination Level 3 Level 2 Level 1
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2008, 12:51:55 am »
If this doesn't work:
Code: [Select]
[html]
<a href='#something'>Go to the Heading</a>
Some text.
<a name='something'>Heading</a>
[/html]
then maybe the custom BBC code could be used to make an 'a' tag.

Offline simply sibyl

  • Helpers
  • *
  • Posts: 14347
  • On hiatus
    • View Profile
    • The Tent Dwellers

  • Total Badges: 31
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 6 Poll Voter Webmaster Arcade Highscore Windows User
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2008, 01:01:39 am »
If this doesn't work:
Code: [Select]
[html]
<a href='#something'>Go to the Heading</a>
Some text.
<a name='something'>Heading</a>
[/html]
then maybe the custom BBC code could be used to make an 'a' tag.


:)     I did exactly the same thing but did not try doing it with single quotes.   That WORKS.

whoo hoo!   super cool.   


edit:   it's working with double quotes as well.   Didn't earlier..  Methinks the good gremlins been working.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2008, 01:09:33 am by simply sibyl »

Offline simply sibyl

  • Helpers
  • *
  • Posts: 14347
  • On hiatus
    • View Profile
    • The Tent Dwellers

  • Total Badges: 31
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 6 Poll Voter Webmaster Arcade Highscore Windows User
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2008, 01:32:16 am »
Kalphite this will work, as Omikron posted it..   
Just remember you can use only html in between the [ html ] brackets. 
BBcode won't work inside them  ;)




Offline Kalphiter

  • SMF For Free Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • DE30AC #409
    • View Profile

  • Total Badges: 14
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Combination Level 3 Level 2 Level 1
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2008, 03:03:56 pm »
I still don't understand it, could somebody explain this to me:

Code: [Select]
[html]
<a href='#something'>Go to the Heading</a>
Some text.
<a name='something'>Heading</a>
[/html]
« Last Edit: March 05, 2008, 03:32:24 pm by Kalphite »

Offline simply sibyl

  • Helpers
  • *
  • Posts: 14347
  • On hiatus
    • View Profile
    • The Tent Dwellers

  • Total Badges: 31
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 6 Poll Voter Webmaster Arcade Highscore Windows User
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2008, 07:51:11 pm »
Help! Somebody explain!
I still don't understand it, could somebody explain this to me:

Code: [Select]
[html]
<a href='#something'>Go to the Heading</a>
Some text.
<a name='something'>Heading</a>
[/html]
I'll try to explain those two sections of the code.

You will need to "name" each section that you want to go to when clicking on the choices at the top of the post.

Let's say you have a post that has 3 long sections in it.   The sections are about apples, bananas, and pears.    heh

Where your heading for that section in the post is do this:
<a name='bananas'>All About Bananas</a>

Do that for each place in the post that you are going to want to go "to"
For instance:

Code: [Select]
<a name='bananas'>All About Bananas</a>Banana Information  goes here


Code: [Select]
<a name='apples'>All About Apples</a>Apple Information goes here


Code: [Select]
<a name='pears'>All About Pears</a>Pears Information goes here


In the list at the TOP of the post  you would put this:
 
Code: [Select]
[html]
<a href='#bananas'>All About Bananas</a>
<br>
<a href='#apples'>All About Apples</a>
<br>
<a href='#pears'>All About Pears</a>
[/html]

When they click on All About Bananas in the list it will take them to that spot in the post.
Same for Apples, and Pears.

Make sure everyting in between the  html tags  is html code.  bbcode will not work so you need to know html to do this.  Everything has to be inside the [ html ]  and [ /html ] tags


« Last Edit: March 11, 2008, 07:56:16 pm by simply sibyl »

Offline Kalphiter

  • SMF For Free Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • DE30AC #409
    • View Profile

  • Total Badges: 14
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Combination Level 3 Level 2 Level 1
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2008, 07:12:58 pm »
How about [ anchor ]?

Offline simply sibyl

  • Helpers
  • *
  • Posts: 14347
  • On hiatus
    • View Profile
    • The Tent Dwellers

  • Total Badges: 31
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 6 Poll Voter Webmaster Arcade Highscore Windows User

Offline Kalphiter

  • SMF For Free Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • DE30AC #409
    • View Profile

  • Total Badges: 14
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Combination Level 3 Level 2 Level 1

Offline simply sibyl

  • Helpers
  • *
  • Posts: 14347
  • On hiatus
    • View Profile
    • The Tent Dwellers

  • Total Badges: 31
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 6 Poll Voter Webmaster Arcade Highscore Windows User
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2008, 02:15:13 pm »
We generally do not lock up Support topics as they are here for others to read/reply to should they have a question.  So this one stays open in case it is needed by someone else. 

Offline Kalphiter

  • SMF For Free Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • DE30AC #409
    • View Profile

  • Total Badges: 14
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Combination Level 3 Level 2 Level 1
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2008, 06:39:10 pm »
We generally do not lock up Support topics as they are here for others to read/reply to should they have a question.  So this one stays open in case it is needed by someone else. 
One more thing I did not know.

Offline McLovin

  • SMF For Free Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile

  • Total Badges: 5
    Badges: (View All)
    Topic Starter Level 1 10 Posts First Post One year Anniversary
Re: How to make anything go to a 'chapter' or 'section'?
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2010, 06:47:04 pm »
Can someone explain this a little bit more for me...? Can this type of indexing handle numbers in the name??

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
1105 Views
Last post April 28, 2007, 09:51:06 am
by simply sibyl